The New Mexico Rails to Trails Association held its Annual Meeting on May 10th, 2013.

The public was invited and The Lodge in Cloudcroft was incredibly kind by providing us with the use of The Pavilion for free! If you haven’t been there, you should definitely check it out. It was a perfect hall for our meeting.

We had 48 attendees with lots of refreshments and displays for everyone to enjoy before and after the meeting. Some of the displays showed the construction of the Crooked Creek Crossing (a major task from 2012), maps of the Enchanted Trail, displays by the Sacramento Mountain Historical Society and another by the Hash House Harriers running group from Holloman AFB.

We had a wonderful guest speaker, Jim Breyfogle.

photo of Jim Breyfogle

Jim Breyfogle

Jim, a resident of Rio Rancho, trains and runs ultra marathons, triathlons, mountain bikes and adventure races when he isn’t at work, completing his MBA, writing for endurancebuzz.com or volunteering his time to worthy causes.  Jim is honest about his wild and impetuous youth and is eminently qualified to tell a tale or two wrapped around how to race frequently and injury free while maintaining a family, career, and life outside of racing.

After Jim gave a wonderfully interesting and entertaining presentation, Peg Crim from the Forest Service gave us all an update on the recent developments on the North-South Trail.

Up next was Tom Henzl of Holloman AFB. Tom gave a brief run-down of the Hash House Harriers — a “different” running group!

Judy Henry was then recognized for her long service to the New Mexico Rails-to-Trails Association. Judy was one of the four original founders of the Association. At this meeting, she officially relinquished her position on the Board of Directors which she served since 1994 when the organization was formed.

At the business meeting, Grady Nicholson (elected Board President), Ken Hensley (Treasurer), Diana Calkins (Secretary), and Cam Wilde were elected for two year terms to the Board. Continuing board members Don Draney (also elected Vice-President), Doug Holcomb and Matt Willette have another year remaining on their Board membership.

This year’s Annual Meeting was a great success and we certainly thank each and everyone that attended for all their support!

NMRTA-2013 AnnualMeetingFlyer